Members of the HFMA have access to a gold-standard network for help and advice that is always on-hand to provide invaluable feedback in response to their queries.


The HFMA staff are available Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm. The Vice President and Executive Director can be contacted via the HFMA office.

The Health Food Manufacturers’ Association
1 Wolsey Road, East Molesey, Surrey KT8 9EL
Tel: +44 (0)20 8481 7100
Fax: +44 (0)20 8481 7101
e-mail: or

You can download the HFMA’s Council and Advisers as a pdf here

Executive Director
Graham Keen

Proposes and implements HFMA policy, coordinates Council, Council committees and Working Group activities, manages HFMA Secretariat and represents HFMA at key meetings with Regulators and Parliamentarians.

Office Manager
Philippa Williams

Coordinate administration and communications internally and externally, with other industry stakeholders and HFMA member companies. Manage the Secretariat of the Micronutrients and Health All-Party Parliamentary Group.

Office Assistant
Denise Penfold

Assists and supports in the day-to-day running of the main HFMA office and answering first-line calls. Supports the HFMA’s Working Groups and assists with any new members to HFMA.

Company Secretary
Mark Blackwell


Responsible for administering the HFMA’s Code of Advertising Practice
Provide advice on regulatory issues, product labelling and advertising to member and non-member companies – for more information see here.

Code Administrator:
Gwyneth Massey

Code Administrator:
Katie Burren

Communications Manager:
Esther Mills-Roberts


Political & Public Affairs
Advice on influencing UK & EU legislative and regulatory issues from a political perspective
Cicero Group: Mr Simon Fitzpatrick, Account Director

Scientific Adviser
Advises on scientific issues relating to specialist health foods and food supplements
Rank Nutrition: Dr Michele Sadler

Technical Adviser
Advises on technical issues relating to products, processing, distribution and relevant legislation
Berryman Food Science Ltd: Prof Paul Berryman

Public Relations
Advises on all aspects of proactive and defensive communications with members and the UK media
Pegasus PR: Vicky Flanagan, Account Director


Member companies are elected to Council for a period of two years and, by rotation, half of them are elected annually. Their nominated representatives volunteer considerable time to attending Council meetings that determine HFMA policy and strategy. Council officers (Chair and Treasurer) are elected annually by the Council, and the President and Vice-President, who do not have voting rights, are elected annually by members at the AGM.

Vitabiotics – Robert Taylor (Chairman)

Natural Trade Brokers – Tom Moses (Treasurer)

Nelsons – Steve Mann (Vice-Chair)


Comvita – Andy Tarnai

ADM Protexin – Aileen Green

Gee Lawson – Julian Domszy

Holland & Barrett International – Lisa Garley-Evans

Lamberts – John Todd

LanesHealth – Janet Groves

MPL Marketing – Martin Last

Nature’s Bounty Company – Raj Dhaliwal

Biocare – Emma Ellis

President: Penny Viner (
Advises on specific regulatory and policy issues, particularly relating to herbals and botanicals, and Chairs the pan-industry UK Herbal Forum.

Start typing and press Enter to search